Hello universe and…other stuff

Okay so this is officially my first blog post about my art…though I have been rambling on about it for ages.

I thought it was a good idea to share more of myself with everyone. Like, the process of coming up with a concept for your painting, giving birth to it on canvas and letting your soul hang on a gallery wall isn’t revealing enough! ha! I just thought this would be enlightening. I have big dreams about where my art will go and I work damn hard to get it there, but hey you gotta dream big I say.  It’s probably wildly out of my grasp in this lifetime but I know my work is good and I know I work my butt off so having a big goal as far as my art is concerned is good…for me anyway. Hey, you never know. If you would have told me 5 years ago that I would be at this point in my art career I would have said you needed a shrink. But I’m here!!  So…..yep.   I will continue to work hard, be creative and work on my marketing/business plan (yes, I have an art marketing/business plan….i call it my road map)!

Anyway,  I have been using Epoxy Resin for about a year now on my work.  I dont put it on all my pieces but I do use it on many. Not only giving a nice finish it seems to magnify the work and amplify the colors.  However, its mad, bad and dangerous. I was just about at the point where I was taking a bath in this stuff.  Forget all the warnings about causing lung damage, neurological disorders, when you are in the heat of the moment with your art, you don’t stop to put gloves on and respirator masks and prepare like you are about to touch the most lethal substance in the world.    But some funky kind of stuff was happening to me, maybe it was my normal weird stuff that was happening…but it was slightly weirder than usual. I mean when your eyes start getting twitches so bad you have to stop driving its time to reevaluate.

Completely depressed that I would never resin another piece of art I went on a 2 month internet journey finding a substitute. I DID and it arrived today!! Art Resin! Specifically made for artists, non yellowing, non toxic! Yeah!   I ordered my first batch on Monday, received it with free shipping today and the video is my test! I think I’m gonna be very happy. Especially now that I can do this right in my studio not in an epoxy chamber!!

This entry was posted in art, art resin, contemporary art, fine art, mixed media and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment